Venturing Leadership Award – NST 3

Patrick Jaime Awarded NST 3 Venturing Leadership Award

The Venturing Leadership Award (VLA) honors Venturers and Venturing Advisors who display exceptional dedication, give outstanding leadership and service to Venturing and Venturers, and who exemplify the Scout Oath and Scout Law. Currently, the VLA may be awarded in the Council, Territory, and National levels of the Venturing program. National Service Territory 3 covers all 20 Councils in the states of California and Hawaii. Note: the Territory VLA is not the equivalent to the Region VLA and is considered a separately new award but shares the same green and white colored ribbon as the former Region VLA.


On April 26, 2022, the National Service Territory 3 Venturing Officers’ Association (VOA) officially announced on its Facebook page, that 6 Venturers and Advisors were officially awarded the inaugural 2022 Territory 3 Venturing Leadership Award. Among those was Patrick Jaime from the Golden Gate Area Council. To date, Patrick has been awarded 4 of the 5 possible VLAs: Council VLA in 2018, Area VLA in 2018, Region VLA in 2021, and now the Territory VLA in 2022; and has served 7-8 years in Venturing leadership positions. This is the first year that the Territory VLAs are being awarded to the Territory level officially discontinuing the Area and Region VLAs.


Patrick Jaime has been involved with Venturing since 2014. He currently serves as the Territory 3 Venturing Communications Task Force Coordinator where he helps manage the NST 3 VOA’s social media platforms and supports the Youth Task Force Chair and their members in their communication tasks. His involvement helped in the successful networking of the NST 3 VOA across the Territory. Patrick also serves as a member of the National Venturing Committee, Golden Gate Area Council VOA Advisor, GGAC Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Committee, and multiple other positions in GGAC. Patrick is an Eagle Scout with 120 merit badges and 19 Eagle Palms (when he was still a youth) and a Summit Rank Recipient. He is an Order of the Arrow Vigil Honor Member of the Yerba Buena Lodge (formerly Ut-In Sélica Lodge), and a recipient of the James E. West Fellowship Award, Messengers of Peace Award, and Commissioner’s Arrowhead Honor.


The Territory VLA is denoted by a green and white colored ribbon with a circular medal that has the Venturing diamond logo affixed at the center. For those unaware, the BSA officially retired the former 27 Areas and 4 Regions and transitioned into 16 National Service Territories on June 2021. As previously mentioned, the Councils in California and Hawaii make up National Service Territory 3 (which may also be referred to as NST 3, or Territory 3).

Share this article


Sea Scouts




Shooting Sport


Scouting for Food

Order of the Arrow

Skip to content